Suffering from unreliable models


Hello everyone ,

I had some unpleasant experience the past few days due to unreliable models who are actually going pro and I had a few clients disappointed without being able to do my job . I had a great ideas for the shoot and I didn’t sleep last night planing the whole shoot from the beginning to the end. I was waiting for four models to appear but none of them arrived and suddenly every single one of them had something else to do. I had to wait for 8 hours because I had an arrangement with potential client and  having arrangement with someone means a lot to me since I’m keeping my word every time. They said that they require to see something in larger scale which will appear to be TFP the first time and after  that will transform to a long term contract. Of course TFP  means that no money are involved. We agreed that we’ll do the shoot which will benefit us in any case even if we don’t get some kind of revenue.  So the word has been given and the arrangement was done.

I had the props and the SFX and a whole bunch of people who are willing to help us.  Unfortunately the owners of the place where we were going to shoot  had no time anymore to wait for any lazy models to appear so I had to pack back my gear and go home decorated like a Christmas tree with all the equipment hanging all over me attached to every possible place on my body. I was like walking studio……a pathetic picture. So at the end of the day I was thinking about which is right and which is wrong and because any further words would be words of anger I’ve found this article explaining exactly the relationship between model and photographer…….

” Probably the most common complaint about beginning models doing TFP is that they are unreliable and sometimes don’t show up for scheduled shoots. The usual reply to a complaint of this sort is that since the model’s not getting paid, she doesn’t have a real obligation to the photographer. This is, bluntly, wrong. The photographer has committed to the shoot. If they did not believe that they were going to have a shoot with that model at that time, they could have scheduled something else. A no-show model represents time and opportunity wasted, and both of those have a very real monetary value. Models with reputations for dependability get callbacks and referrals: models who don’t, don’t. The world of photography is surprisingly close-knit and it doesn’t take long at all for word to get around. “

You can find the whole article here http://web.me.com/eathans1/ImagingB_New/TFP.html

I am very grateful to Brian Eathan Williams for writing this article !

Respect yourselves as a photographers and make sure to keep your word every time even if you encounter any difficulties being there in time. This counts for the models too. If you really want to be a model you better make sure to keep your word because every time  it is most important than any contract.

Sorry guys ! No material to show today 😦

Oggy Dimitrov

Leave a Reply

